English
Languages
  • Home
    • Help Projects
    • 2021: Flood Victims in Ahrweiler
    • 2020: Help for the displaced Rohingya
    • 2019: Suffering in Silence
    • 2018: Aid for Tsunami Victims in Sulawesi
    • 2017: Natural Disasters
    • 2016: Water is Life
    • 2014 & 2015: 100 Years - 100 Schools
    • 2013: School Expansion Senegal
    • 2012: School Projects in Africa
    • 2011: Water Supply for People in Africa
    • 2010: Aid for Slums in Brazil
    • 2009: Forest Garden Project in Haiti
    • 2008: Microcredits in India
    • 2007: Water for Refugees in Darfur
    • 2006: Pakistan and Togo
    • 2005: Earthquake in Pakistan
    • 2004: Projects for Tsunami Victims
Woman holding her little child in her arms.

Suffering in Silence

Over 130 million people worldwide are victims of conflicts and catastrophes each year. However, many of these humanitarian crises are not publicized at all: We take a stand against suffering in silence and dedicate this year's fundraising campaign to the victims of these forgotten crises!

Any Crisis Forgotten Is One Too Many

In the world, there are many dangerous places that thousands must flee from each day. There are countries where half of the children are starving. Do you know where this is happening? If your answer is "no", you're not alone. Supporting people in need is very difficult if most of the world simply looks away.

If There's No Hashtag, Then Did It Really Happen?

In this era of social media and 24-hour access to news, this question has become a truism for many people. What we see on the screen, via the internet or hear over the radio becomes our reality. If an event happens and we don't hear about it, it simply doesn't exist in our consciousness. The sad truth is that the lives of over 132 million people around the world were threatened by crises and catastrophes last year, regardless of whether we heard about it or not. Many of the humanitarian crises affected people without anyone being aware of it. They suffer in silence, away from the public eye.

©CARE

Why Does This Happen?

An astronomical number of crises, difficulty in gaining access for the media in crisis zones, a lack of finance – there are many reasons that the international community is simply looking away. A study by the Aurora Humanitarian Index found that, for 61% of the participants, there are simply too many humanitarian crises today to follow them all. Many people are also unsure of which countries are hit hardest by these crises. For example, the incorrect assumption that industrialized nations take in the most refugees is very widespread.

In reality, 80% of refugees worldwide actually live in developing countries.

©CARE

What Can We Do to Help?

The world had many crises to deal with in 2019 too; the people affected by these need action and support from us all.

The war in Yemen, the Syrian crisis, the cyclones Idai and Kenneth in Mozambique and the impact of the climate change around Lake Chad are just a few of these. In addition, a multitude of other catastrophes and conflicts also occurred, but these are hardly seen in the media. The consequences for the people affected by these are huge: Time and time again, we have seen how important public awareness is for mobilizing funds and exerting public pressure on political decision-makers.

©CARE

Suffering in Silence

CARE, the international relief organization, is therefore publishing its "Suffering in Silence" report for the fourth year in a row.

Each year, this study focuses on ten crises that each affect over a million people but have not received much attention from the general public. "Suffering in Silence" is a call to the global community that asks us to act in order to save the people that are suffering in silence in these forgotten crisis zones.

Picture Gallery

"ZF HILFT." WITH RESPONSIBILITY TOWARDS THE FUTURE

Frau hält ihr kleines Kind auf den Arm.

Suffering in Silence

Über 130 Millionen Menschen weltweit sind jährlich Opfer von Konflikten und Katastrophen. Doch viele dieser humanitären Krisen schaffen es gar nicht erst in das öffentliche Bewusstsein: Wir setzen ein Zeichen gegen das Leiden im Stillen und widmen die diesjährige Spendenaktion den Opfern dieser vergessenen Krisen!

Jede vergessene Krise ist eine zu viel

Es gibt Orte auf der Welt, von denen täglich tausende Menschen fliehen müssen. Es gibt Länder, in denen die Hälfte aller Kleinkinder Hunger leidet. Kennen Sie diese Orte? Wenn Ihre Antwort Nein lautet, sind Sie damit nicht alleine. Menschen in Not zu unterstützen ist besonders dann schwierig, wenn die Weltöffentlichkeit wegschaut.

Wenn es keinen Hashtag gibt, ist es dann passiert?

Im Zeitalter der sozialen Medien und der 24-stündigen Verfügbarkeit von Nachrichten ist diese Frage für viele zum Mantra geworden. Das, was wir über den Bildschirm, das Internet oder das Radio konsumieren, wird zu unserer Realität. Dinge, von denen wir nichts hören, existieren nicht. Die traurige Wahrheit ist, dass das Leben von über 132 Millionen Menschen letztes Jahr weltweit von Krisen und Katastrophen bedroht war - unabhängig davon, ob wir davon gehört haben oder eben nicht. Viele der von humanitären Krisen betroffenen Menschen leiden im Stillen, abseits der öffentlichen Wahrnehmung.

©CARE Frau trägt ihr Kind in der Wüste auf dem Rücken.

Warum ist das so?

Eine schier unüberschaubare Zahl an Krisen, erschwerter Zugang für Medien zu Krisengebieten, fehlende Finanzierung - es gibt viele Gründe, warum die internationale Gemeinschaft wegschaut. In einer Studie des Aurora Humanitarian Index sagen 61 Prozent der Befragten, dass es heutzutage schlicht zu viele humanitäre Krisen gebe, um sie alle zu verfolgen. Viele Menschen irren auch darin, welche Länder am stärksten davon betroffen sind. Weit verbreitet ist etwa die fälschliche Annahme, dass Industrieländer die meisten Geflüchteten aufnehmen.

Tatsächlich leben 80 Prozent der Geflüchteten weltweit in Entwicklungsländern.

©CARE Junges Mädchen trägt eine Metallschüssel Wasser auf ihrem Kopf.

Was können wir tun?

Auch 2019 hatte die Welt mit unzähligen Krisen zu kämpfen, die den Einsatz und die Unterstützung von uns allen erfordern.

Der Krieg im Jemen, die Krise in Syrien, die Zyklone Idai und Kenneth in Mosambik, aber auch die Auswirkungen des Klimawandels rund um den Tschadsee sind nur einige davon. Dazu kommt eine Vielzahl weiterer Katastrophen und Konflikte, die in der medialen Berichterstattung kaum auftauchten. Die Folgen für die betroffenen Menschen sind dramatisch: Immer wieder hat sich gezeigt, wie wichtig die öffentliche Aufmerksamkeit ist, um Gelder zu mobilisieren und öffentlichen Druck auf politische Entscheidungsträger auszuüben.

©CARE Ein kleines Mädchen steht neben einer CARE Mitarbeiterin.

Suffering in Silence - Stilles Leiden

Zum vierten Mal in Folge veröffentlicht die internationale Hilfsorganisation CARE daher den Bericht „Suffering In Silence”. Die Studie stellt jedes Jahr zehn Krisen in den Mittelpunkt, die mehr als eine Million Menschen betreffen, aber von der Weltöffentlichkeit nur wenig Aufmerksamkeit erhalten. „Suffering In Silence” ist ein Aufruf an die globale Gemeinschaft, sich für die Menschen einzusetzen, die in diesen vergessenen Krisengebieten im Stillen leiden.

Bildergalerie