Woman standing in front of a mudslide with destroyed cars.

Aid for Tsunami Victims in Sulawesi

On September 28, 2018, a series of earthquakes measuring up to 7.5 on the Richter scale shook the Indonesian island of Sulawesi. "ZF hilft." offered support by providing emergency relief measures and activities to establish sustainable living conditions.

Looking Back: The Sulawesi Tsunami of 2018

On September 28, 2018, a series of earthquakes measuring up to 7.5 on the Richter scale shook the Indonesian island of Sulawesi. The quakes triggered tidal waves up to six meters high that devastated the area around the city of Palu, on the island’s north coast. The tsunami consumed people and homes alike, destroying large areas of the island. The disaster took more than 4,300 lives. Over 220,000 people lost their homes. Entire villages were destroyed, including their streets, schools and businesses, and entire harvests were ruined. Six months after the disaster, many of the survivors are still fighting for survival.

To prevent the outbreak of epidemics and diseases, the region urgently required relief measures. Survivors needed food, drinking water and emergency shelter. According to estimates by the United Nations, around 191,000 people needed emergency relief.

With its fundraising campaign, "ZF hilft." was able to provide aid in two ways:

1. Fast Relief:

  • Part of the donated funds went towards providing emergency relief measures:
  • Our donation contributed to distributing food, drinking water and toiletries as well as running an open kitchen.
  • This in turn provided people with food and prevented the outbreak of hygiene-related diseases. In addition, tarpaulins enabled families to build small emergency shelters.
  • Families also received blankets, buckets, flashlights and other basic necessities.

2. Sustainable Support:

  • The donations allowed the most severely affected communities to create a diversified, productive and sustainable basis on which to rebuild the lives of their residents, ensuring their continued access to basic necessities.

Picture gallery

"ZF HILFT." WITH RESPONSIBILITY TOWARDS THE FUTURE

Frau steht vor einer Schlammlawine mit zerstörten Autos.

Hilfe für Tsunamiopfer in Sulawesi

Am 28. September 2018 erschütterte eine Serie von Erdbeben mit einer Stärke von bis zu 7,5 auf der Richterskala die indonesische Insel Sulawesi. „ZF hilft.“ unterstützt mit Soforthilfemaßnahmen und nachhaltigen Aktivitäten.

Rückblick: Tsunami-Katastrophe in Sulawesi

Am 28. September 2018 erschütterte eine Serie von Erdbeben mit einer Stärke von bis zu 7,5 auf der Richterskala die indonesische Insel Sulawesi. In der Folge überrollte eine bis zu sechs Meter hohe Flutwelle die Nordwestküste um die Stadt Palu. Der Tsunami riss Häuser und Menschen mit und verwüstete weite Teile der Insel. Die Katastrophe forderte mehr als 4.300 Todesopfer. Über 220.000 Menschen verloren ihr Heim. Ganze Dörfer inklusive Straßen, Schulen und Geschäften wurden zerstört, komplette Ernten vollständig vernichtet. Auch sechs Monate nach der Katastrophe kämpfen immer noch viele Betroffene ums Überleben.

Um dem Ausbruch von Epidemien und Krankheiten vorzubeugen, waren dringend Hilfsmaßnahmen notwendig. Die Überlebenden mussten mit Nahrungsmitteln, Trinkwasser und Notunterkünften versorgt werden. Nach Schätzung der Vereinten Nationen benötigten rund 191.000 Menschen Nothilfe.

Durch die Spendenaktion konnte "ZF hilft." wie folgt helfen:

1. Schnelle Hilfe:

  • Ein Teil der Spendengelder wurde für Soforthilfemaßnahmen zur Verfügung gestellt:
  • Unsere Spende trug dazu bei, Nahrungsmittel, Trinkwasser und Hygieneutensilien zu verteilen, sowie eine offene Versorgungsküche zu betreiben.
  • Dadurch wurden die Menschen mit Nahrungsmitteln versorgt, dem Ausbruch hygienebedingter Krankheiten wurde vorgebeugt, Planen ermöglichten den Familien den Bau kleiner Notunterkünfte.
  • Zusätzlich erhielten Familien Decken, Eimer, Taschenlampen und weitere grundlegende und notwendige Ausstattungsgegenstände.

2. Nachhaltige Hilfe:

  • Für die an den stärksten betroffenen Gemeinden wurden diversifizierte, produktive und nachhaltige Lebensgrundlagen geschaffen, die den Zugang zu den Grundbedürfnissen sichern.

Bildergalerie