Women's clinic in the hospital.

Pakistan and Togo

Worldwide, approximately 5,000 people die from tuberculosis every day. Today, curing this severe and often fatal infectious disease is no longer a serious medical problem – a cure only costs around €50 per case.

Pakistan

The Aid to Leprosy Patients (ALP) Hospital in Rawalpindi covers an area of around 206,000 km² with approximately 90 million residents. It is the only officially recognized hospital that accepts patients with multiresistant tuberculosis in all Pakistan. Donations by the registered nonprofit association ZF hilft e. V. enabled the hospital to care for patients with multiresistant tuberculosis. "ZF hilft." secured the patients' long and cost-intensive treatment for three years.

Without treatment, patients have very little chance of survival. In addition the risk of infection with this fatal disease is extremely high for people who are in close proximity to the patients.

Togo

"ZF hilft." supported the work in the Centre Dermatologie in Lomé.

The Centre Dermatologie in Lomé is the headquarters of the nation-wide Leprosy and Tuberculosis Control Program and houses the office of the German Leprosy and Tuberculosis Relief Association (DAHW), the central pharmaceutical warehouse as well as a reference laboratory, a consulting room for medical examinations and an orthopaedic workshop.

Donations were also used to support Togo's National Tuberculosis and Leprosy Control Program.

©DAHW / Thomas Einberger A row of donated shoes.

The donations by the registered nonprofit association ZF hilft e. V. contributed significantly to finding and treating new leprosy patients. Among these are children and adults who had already suffered disabilities at the time of diagnosis due to the advanced stage of their disease. The donations also ensured that people who suffer the consequences of leprosy despite being considered officially cured receive continued medical and social assistance. The donations also went towards the manufacture of orthopaedic shoes. Making these shoes costs a mere €10 on average. However, this small investment has a great impact as it serves to protect the patient's feet from severe injuries.

With the aid of "ZF hilft.", 2,493 new cases of tuberculosis have been diagnosed and treated.

The donations were also used to purchase 10,000 sample vessels and reagents for the laboratory and to restock the warehouse. In addition, more than 4,000 voluntary TB aides were trained so that they are now able to recognize the first signs of leprosy and tuberculosis and can refer patients to the reference center in Lomé to be diagnosed.

©DAHW Pharmaceutical warehouse.

With the aid of "ZF hilft.", the hospital was also able to maintain the infrastructure required to treat patients. Four doctors, one laboratory assistant, two leprosy experts, one automotive technician, two administrative employees, four drivers who actively seek out patients and distribute drugs, three security guards who guard the offices and warehouse, one warehouse clerk and one supervisor are on hand every day to provide professional care to patients in 35 districts.

Picture gallery

"ZF HILFT." WITH RESPONSIBILITY TOWARDS THE FUTURE

Frauensprechstunde im Krankenhaus.

Pakistan und Togo

Täglich sterben ca. 5.000 Menschen weltweit an Tuberkulose. Die Heilung dieser schlimmen, oft tödlichen Infektionskrankheit, ist heute medizinisch kein größeres Problem und kostet nur etwa 50€ pro Fall.

Pakistan

Das Aid to Leprosy Patients (ALP) Hospital in Rawalpindi deckt ein Gebiet von etwa 206.000 km² mit ca. 90 Millionen Einwohnern ab. Es handelt sich dabei um das einzige staatlich anerkannte Krankenhaus in ganz Pakistan, das Patienten mit multiresistenter Tuberkulose aufnimmt. Die wichtige Aufgabe, Patienten mit multiresistenter Tuberkulose zu betreuen, konnten mit der Spende von ZF hilft e.V. angenommen werden. "ZF hilft." stellte die langwierige und kostenintensive Behandlung der Patienten über drei Jahre sicher.

Ohne eine Behandlung ist die Überlebenschance der Patienten sehr gering und die Ansteckungsgefahr für Menschen in der Nähe der Patienten mit dieser tödlichen Krankheit extrem hoch.

Togo

"ZF hilft." unterstützte die Arbeit im Centre Dermatologie in Lomé.

Das Centre Dermatologie in Lomé ist die Zentrale des landesweiten Lepra- und Tuberkulosekontroll-Programms und beherbergt neben dem DAHW-Büro auch das zentrale Medikamentenlager sowie ein Referenzlabor, ein Sprechzimmer für ärztliche Untersuchungen und eine orthopädische Werkstatt.

Weiterhin kamen Spenden dem Nationalen Tuberkulose- und Lepra-Kontrollprogramm, Togo zugute.

©DAHW/ Thomas Einberger Schuhspenden die in einer Reihe stehen.

Die Spende von ZF hilft e.V. hat in großem Umfang dazu beigetragen, dass neue Leprapatienten gefunden und behandelt werden konnten. Unter ihnen befanden sich auch Kinder und Erwachsenen, die aufgrund der fortgeschrittenen Krankheit bei Diagnosefeststellung bereits Behinderungen davongetragen hatten. Darüber hinaus konnten weitere Personen, die offiziell bereits als geheilt gelten, aber nach wie vor unter den Folgen von Lepra leiden, medizinisch und sozial betreut werden. Es wurde orthopädisches Schuhwerk gefertigt. Die Anfertigung solcher Schuhe kostet im Schnitt nur 10 Euro, bewahrt die Patienten aber vor schweren Verletzungen an den Füßen.

Im Bereich der Tuberkulose konnten mit Unterstützung von "ZF hilft." 2.493 neue Fälle diagnostiziert und behandelt werden.

Mit der Spende konnten auch 10.000 Probengefäße und Reagenzien für die Labor gekauft sowie das Zentrallager aufgestockt werden. Zudem konnten über 4.000 freiwillige TB-Helfer geschult werden, damit sie die ersten Anzeichen von Lepra- und Tuberkulose erkennen und die Patienten zur Diagnose an das Referenzzentrum in Lomé verweisen können.

©DAHW Medikamentenlager.

Mit der Unterstützung von "ZF hilft." konnte darüber hinaus die Infrastruktur zur Behandlung der Patienten aufrechterhalten werden. Für die fachkundige Versorgung der Patienten in 35 Distrikten waren vier Ärzte, ein Laborassistent, zwei Fachangestellte in Leprakunde, ein Automechaniker, zwei Verwaltungsangestellte, vier Fahrer zur aktiven Fallsuche nach Patienten und Verteilung von Medikamenten, drei Wachmänner zur Sicherung der Büro- und Lagerräume, ein Lagerist und ein Supervisor im Einsatz.

Bildergalerie